Introduction: What Are Chakras and Why Is Working on Our Lower Chakras Important?

This month, I’m in Rishikesh, North India, and saw Vanamali GuruJi, who told me that my Apana Vayu was weak and that I needed to focus on healing and clearing my lower chakras. “Most people have to work on their higher chakras, but you have to work on your lower chakras,” she laughed. That is so true! My psychic abilities are heightened, but my digestion is slow. As a result, I began my journey by healing my lower chakras. (Download the Kundalini Yoga Chakra Healing PDF Below!)

Chakras are energy centres in the body that can be used to improve physical, emotional and spiritual well-being. Working on our lower chakras is important because they are associated with our physical health and stability, as well as our ability to manifest our desires. When these energy centres are blocked or not functioning properly, it can lead to physical ailments, mental health issues and difficulty manifesting what we want in life.

By understanding the role of each chakra, we can learn how to work on them so that we can achieve a greater sense of balance and harmony in our lives.

The Benefits of Healing Our Lower Chakras

Our lower chakras are the foundation of our energetic body and healing them can have profound effects on our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. When these energy centers are blocked or out of balance, it can lead to feelings of anxiety, depression, insecurity, digestive issues, constipation and low energy levels.

By taking the time to heal our lower chakras, we can open up new pathways for growth and transformation.

How to Heal & Strengthen Your Lower Chakras

There are a few things you can do to heal and strengthen your lower chakras. At the time of writing I’m spending a few weeks in Rishikesh at the Kriya Yoga Ashram, where I’m learning Kriya Yoga techniques. These techniques are secretive, and you must learn them directly from a qualified teacher, but they do have chakra healing benefits.

To clear our chakras, we can begin with some simple practices. These practices are also beneficial for the higher chakras, just change the colour or beej mantra to match the chakra you are working on.

How do you know what chakra to work on now?

The chakra you choose to work on will be determined by your personal development and spiritual development. For example, I need to clear my lower chakras right now to release some old habits and karma. Focusing on the lower chakras right now will assist me in releasing the burdens and baggage of the past, as well as increasing my energy levels and digestion. I’ve been working on the higher chakras for a few years, and GuruJi has confirmed that they are fine – it’s now time to work on the lower chakras.


Colour: Red 

Bija Mantra: LAM​

Issues: security drive, possessions, material objects, security, trust, fend for yourself, you have to do it all alone, the world is a scary place, worry about the things you can’t change, back pain, sciatica, varicose veins, immune system, teeth, large intestine, feet​.

Questions to consider: Do you often feel a sense of insecurity? Do you have problems trusting yourself or others? Do you feel alone in the world? Do you tend to worry too much?



Colour: Orange

Bija Mantra: VAM

Issues: According to Swami Satyananda Saraswati this Chakra stores all karma so it is suggested to first awaken the Ajna Chakra. Healthy relationships, healthy sexuality, cultivate abundance, sexual abuse, gender issues, guilt and blame, lower back pain, bladder, uterine, kidney.

Questions to consider: Do you tend to easily feel guilty about situations? Do you struggle with relationships? Does it seem like you’ve always had money problems. 

Refer to this Chakra Healing PDF for the Beej Mantras, colours and the issue of each chakra along with the issue that could be stuck within them.

Once you found the issue you want to work on – simply use one or both of the following techniques.

1. MEDITATE WITH COLOUR: Focus on your Mooladhara Chakra and visualise the colour red. Breathe in the colour red for 5-10 minutes, tightening the perineum area each time. Repeat for Svadhistana (orange) and Manipura (yellow).

2. MEDITATE WITH SOUND: While sitting still in a meditative posture tone the Beej Mantras according to each chakra. Mooladhara: LAM, Svadhistana: VAM, Manipura: RAM. Take your time with each intonation such as LLLLLAAAAMMMMM; one full deep breath for each.

When I was in Rishikesh in 2019 I did my Kundalini Yoga Teacher Training where I learned deeper information about the chakras from an Indian Guru and the Kundalini Tantra book by Swami Satyananda Saraswati. Hence, to assist you on your chakra healing journey I made this PDF – download this information sheet on Kundalini Yoga and the Chakras.

You can achieve a higher level of self-awareness and inner peace by taking steps to heal and strengthen your lower chakras.

If you need some help scanning, clearing or even knowing which chakra to work on please reach out to me using my booking calendar and tell me that you want a “CHAKRA HEALING SESSION”. I’ll scan your chakras for you, and even ask some questions to get a better idea of where you need to focus your energy healing.

All the best on your journey my friend!